In Microsoft Windows, whenever an object is deleted, before the Windows deletes the object it displays a confirmation box to the users asking them if they really want to delete the object from the computer. On this confirmation box, users must click ‘Yes’ button to confirm the deletion. Even after the confirmation, Windows does not delete the objects permanently from the computer but it sends them to the Recycle Bin, from where they can be recovered if they have been deleted by mistake. All these default settings are there in Microsoft Windows in order to prevent accidental deletion and loss of data because of human errors. However these default configurations are fully customizable and if users or administrators want they can modify the default settings to make the operating systems work exactly the way they want.
Default Configurations and Modifications
When it comes to deleting objects from Windows operating systems, as mentioned above, Windows provides default configurations that prevent users from deleting the objects accidentally. While customizing these settings, users can disable the confirmation box and let Windows delete the objects and send them to the Recycle Bin directly. Users can also configure the Windows operating system to delete the objects permanently, i.e. without sending them to the Recycle Bin. These two modifications can be made either simultaneously or one at a time, depending upon the requirements of the users. In either case, it becomes essential for the users to think several times before they make such adjustments and modifications in the default configurations.
Microsoft strongly recommends that the default configurations of the Recycle Bin must not be modified and must be left unaltered in order to experience the optimum performance and avoid accidental deletion and data losses.
Configuring Windows to Delete Objects Permanently
Although it is not at all recommended, but for testing purposes if users want they can configure Windows to delete objects permanently, without sending them to the Recycle Bin. They must follow the steps given below in order to do so:
- Log on to Windows 7 computer.
- Right-click Recycle Bin, and from the context menu click Properties.
- On the opened Recycle Bin Properties box, make sure that the desired partition is selected, and under Settings for the selected location section click to select Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted radio button.
- Click OK when done to save the changes.